Dedicated to Excellence

CIMS Training Testimonials

CIMS Scenario Intelligence
Click on the image to find out more about CIMS training.
  • I was definitely impressed by the design of the training materials, pacing of Powerpoint presentations and down-to-earth friendly approach of the trainers.  It feels rather like our periodic first aid training – really good preparation for anything unexpected, absolutely valuable to have carried out…  and definitely needing periodic review/refresh to keep the material usably fresh in our minds? AS November 2018 CIMS 2
    (One day’s concentrated training was really good, but it does feel as if the learnings will probably need additional review to firmly embed them in longterm memory rather than just short-term
  • Great mix of theory and application. Pragmatic approach with hands on learning.  MR October 2018 CIMS 2
  • Really enjoyable training, the presenters were skilled and knowledgeable. Good to do the mock incident as brought the theory to life.  KB October 2018 CIMS 2
  • Training was excellent, presentation was clear and uncluttered. Great scenario and test of knowledge.  PL October 2018 CIMS 2
  • I appreciated the positive and engaging way that training was delivered by Sharyn and Paul, clearly from a position of much experience in both emergency evaluation and delivery to a broad range of organisations.  TG October 2018 CIMS 2
  • This training was delivered clearly and real live examples used.  GM September 2018 CIMS 2
  • It was a pleasure to meet you both.  Just to say thank you for a great training day.  As a knowledge base, in case of whatever wherever in daily life it was invaluable.  One assumes a great deal this world about ‘how to’ do things in a crisis but we ‘do not know what we do not know’ until the crisis occurs. Hence I gained so much out of yesterday’s training and look forward to doing CIMS 4 next year. I enjoyed your training format also. SM September 2018 CIMS 2
  • Really great day of excellent training. JP – June 2018 CIMS 2
  • Good energy and pace. Varying presentations were good. Questions well answered. Great examples and insight from other organisations. MZ – June 2018 CIMS 2
  • Very engaging and knowledgeable. No question was too difficult and I enjoyed the real life scenarios. KB – June 2018 CIMS 2 
  • Great training, easy to understand and good guidance throughout the group scenario. DE – May 2018 CIMS 2
  • Good team interaction training. AP – May 2018 CIMS 2
  • Excellent. Great knowledge of presenters, interesting material relaxed and encouraging nature. OV – May 2018 CIMS 2 & 4
  • Great relaxed style of communication, knowledgeable and pitched at the right level. Presented with integrity and humor. PM – May 2018 CIMS 2
  • Good application of educational techniques with range of visual, audible writing / reading styles. Good use of presentation material. Good exercises / group and individual assessment. MW – May 2018 CIMS 2
  • Both Sharyn and Paul are good at creating an environment where mistakes are welcomed and not ridiculed.  Presented information in a relatable and interesting way.
  • Just saw your excellent EER result, please pass on our congratulations to the team.  Regards.  GW – Feb 2018
  • Whilst we routinely deal with emergency events, attendees reported gaining further insight in how events could be managed and c-ordinated better, specifically around handover between shifts.  DC – November 2017 CIMS 2
  • Great content and very knowledgeable presenters.  The scenario in the afternoon was a great eye opener and helped to cement knowledge.  NR – November 2017 CIMS 2
  • Good course that was made for what we do at work.  NA – November 2017 CIMS 2
  • Good interactive training.  Very engaging and beneficial.  JW – November 2017 – CIMS 2
  • Good presentation and course material.  Practical scenario an ‘eye opener’  JW – November 2017 CIMS 2
  • Valuable scenarios, supported thoroughly enjoyed the training and appreciate the CIMS role in emergency management.  LV – November 2017 CIMS
  • Great, relaxed style.  Did not feel pressured and gained great insight.  KH – November 2017 CIMS
  • A great interactive course.  Excellent materials.  I really enjoyed the practical scenarios.  DK – November 2017 CIMS
  • Excellent trainers and very useful training.  Completely applicable to my work and role.  Great content and scenarios.  Learned a lot during these 2 days.  MJ – November 2017 CIMS
  • Good pace of training developing team work and more cohesive outcomes.  CW – November 2017 CIMS
  • Always enjoy the interactive approach.  Appreciate the effort involved in tailoring the response to our type of work / organisation.  Very impressed with the teaching styles of both Sharyn and Paul.  RP – November 2017 CIMS 4
  • Good style and good guidance through the course.  PM – November 2017 CIMS 4
  • Really enjoyed the training.  Very interactive.  KT – November 2017 CIMS 4
  • Awesome presentation.  How Paul and Sharyn complement each other during their presentations.  An eye opener in understanding incident management.  RT – October 2017 CIMS 2
  • I found the course brillantly resourced and very enjoyable.  CK- October 2017 CIMS 2
  • Excellent combination of presentation, practical scenario experience and written information to take away for reference. MH – September 2017 CIMS 2
  • Very engaging, collaborative, clear and concise. really enjoyed and learned a great deal that I can now implement with my current role. –  DV – September 2017 CIMS 2
  • Very good, practical. Paul and Sharyn very professional, knowledgeable and approachable. RC – September 2017 CIMS 2
  • I love working with Devereux-Blum (Training and Development Ltd). Informative and engaging. I learnt so much from each scenario. SY – May 2017 CIMS 4
  • Well facilitated and good to use examples we are familiar with but generic enough to apply to all level events with multi-agency involvement.  ​MS – May 2017 CIMS 4 
  • It was an enjoyable training and your encouragement and help along the way was most appreciated. LC – May 2017 CIMS 4
  • The last two days were great learning to see the gaps in my knowledge and also reinforce how important planning and preparedness is. You will only  get better with familiarity and practice using templates as a reference point for planning and operating an incident. ​KP​ – April 2017 CIMS 4 
  • The CIMS Training really worked for the incident reponse last week.  People knew their roles and the templates developed in conjunction with Devereux-Blum Training ensured that the response flowed smoothly.  VR -December 2016 CIMS Training (Verbal feedback).
  • Great presenters, worked well together, encouraging, knowledgeable, presentable. CM -November 2016 CIMS 2-day Training
  • I couldn’t fault it [the CIMS training]. I really thought it was great.  Your experience in this field is very evident.  The content was great.  Really enjoyed the teaching style, approach, refreshment to learning ratio. The scenarios were so good, great to see our progress.  HV -November 2016 CIMS 2-day Training.
  • A CEO who participated in a recent CIMS Exercise Training commented that he was pleased with the high level of participation from the New Zealand Fire Service due to our Director/Trainer Paul’s efforts. November 2016 CIMS Exercise
  • Generally all information provided was extremely concise and allowed for excellent participation. GD -November 2016 CIMS 4
  • Great trainers.  Sharyn is lovely and helpful. MS – November 2016 CIMS 4
  • The trainers were engaging and responsive.  The skills and knowledge I acquired included: understanding the roles within the Incident Management Team; time management skills in an emergency scenario; information gathering and recording; quick analysis and action plan developed. MM – November 2016 CIMS 4
  • Good.  Really liked the co-presentation.  UC – October 2016 – CIMS 2
  • Good clear diagrams.  Real life examples that have occured in NZ and lessons learnt from these.  MH – October 2016 – CIMS 2
  • Great presentation, knowledge and passion for topic.  MD – October 2016 – CIMS 2